First Impressions – My E.L.F Haul

This weekend, I tried out as many products as I could which for me considering I wasn’t going anywhere to be social, meant I was wandering around my apartment with a full face of makeup and no one to admire it!! But, here we go!

High Definition Undereye Setting Powder

The packaging is super cute and it comes with this adorable brush! I got it in the colour ‘Sheer’ which from what I can see is the only colour it comes in. What it is (as I’ve never used it before, just heard about it) is a ‘diffusing powder that camouflages fine lines, dark circles and imperfections’. You apply it after concealer to set in and for extra coverage. On first opening the product, I couldn’t work out what the shimmer was all about, I still don’t to be honest, but it doesn’t really make a difference when it’s applied!

20140511-130725.jpg

High Definition Under Eye Setting Powder

Smudge Pot

Again, the packaging is really cute, I have a few lip gloss pots about the same size, so I will have to make sure to pack my makeup away in its proper place otherwise I may end up with eyeshadow on my lips if I am not paying attention! But this is really cute, its lightweight the colour is really pretty has a nice amount of shimmer and I’m looking forward to trying this as a base when I want a little extra dimension to my shadow! It’s described as a “smooth gliding gel formula is perfect as a long-lasting eyeshadow or eyeliner.”

20140511-130735.jpg

Smudge Pot in Aint That Sweet

Mineral Lip Tint

I bought this in the colour Guava. I love anything that is nourishing for the lips. I’ve discovered living in Canada that my lips are always dry and cracking! Not pleasant! This product advises it will ‘nourish and treat your lips with the hydrating blend of Shea, Jojoba and Vitamin E. The beautiful sheer tint of colour provides immediate relief to chapped lips and diminishes the appearance of fine lines‘. The colour is a little brighter than I thought in the tube, but once its on, it doesn’t really show up on me – there is a slight tint. Oh! And it has a pleasant taste!

20140511-131111.jpg

Mineral Lip Tint in Guava

20140511-131119.jpg

Glossy Gloss

I got this in Ballet Slippers. It;s a brown nude colour. What I did notice packaging wise, is there is a lot of packaging for a little bottle!! I’ve been told the packaging may have changed recently. Not a biggie, but I was a bit surprised when I pulled it out and it wasn’t as big as the box lead me to believe! The Glossy Glosses provide ‘a high shine gloss for a beautiful sheen and a rich tint of colour‘ it has this cool brush instead of the usual wands you get with lip glosses, so it feels more like you are ‘painting’ it on – does that make sense? First application, it feels quite thick, but smooths out really nicely. The texture is lovely! I had read a few reviews where people weren’t happy with the brush, either ELF has changed them or I scored a good one as mine is nice and soft!

20140511-131233.jpg

Glossy Gloss in Ballet Slippers

20140511-131240.jpg

Matte Lip Colour

I got two of these, one in Natural and the other in Tea Rose. They felt quite buttery when I did a swatch on my hand. Its described as a ‘convenient jumbo sized lip pencil to create exact colour application. the pigment rich colour glides on effortlessly and provides long-lasting matte colour’. To be honest, I will be using these more as lip liners than full lipsticks. Though in saying that, I am using the natural one today all over my lips as a base before my gloss. It’s quite dry but goes on nice and smoothly and is like advertised, matte! I’m wearing gloss over the top of it.

20140511-131247.jpg

Matte Lip Colour in Natural & Tea Rose

20140511-131256.jpg

and finally….

Luscious Liquid Lipstick

I again, got two of these. One in Nude Pink and the other in Pink Lemonade. I was slightly concerned about the colour of the Pink Lemonade as it’s a fair bit darker than what I saw on the website! But these are described as ‘Long lasting colour and shine, hydrates, conditions and softens on contact’. Once on, they are quite sheer – they do have a lot of pigment in them, but nothing too overwhelming and you won’t have people going OMG, she just put her face into a bowl of glitter!” The applicator is like a furry sponge! That’s really the best way I can describe it! I will say, you have to twist the bottom of the tube to make the product come up and it’s quiteΒ noisy – not something I would be reapplying while watching either a drama or a scary movie right before the dramatic OMG WTF moment! The Nude Pink smells a bit minty, and the Pink Lemonade smells like those sherbet candies!

20140511-131215.jpg

Luscious Liquid Lipstick in Nude Pink & Pink Lemonade

20140511-131225.jpg

So that’s it! Happy with all my products – now I just need to find somewhere to wear them all! (oh, not all at once obviously…..)

Deez xx

About Deez

After spending the better part of the last decade living in London and Calgary, I have now moved home to Sydney Australia! The land of beautiful beaches, weather and yes, as people like to point out - the deadliest animals in the world... we all have our quirks! Join me as I share my no frills stories about anything and everything!
This entry was posted in First Impression and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.