Sydney Pricing – The Scandal! Drugstore Edition

Keeping in line with my last blog, I was on a mission to find out whether it was just higher end stores, or drugstore brands as well where we were being ripped off. And sadly…….even in the drugstores, we are paying so much more! I went into my local Priceline to do a wee bit of research, then had my friend in Calgary go the local Shoppers Drug Mart to take some pictures of the same things. Some of the packaging may be slightly different, but they are the same product. This is what I discovered….

L’Oreal True Match Lumi

This is my go to drugstore foundation, I did stock up on this before I headed home, so at least for the next little while, I am set with this beloved gem of mine. In Sydney at least (I am not sure if these retail for different prices in different states, so I thought I should clarify where I was looking) this retails for AUD$33.95 and CAN$20.99 + 5% tax

L'Oreal - Australia

L’Oreal – Australia

True Match Lumi - L'Oreal Canada

True Match Lumi – L’Oreal Canada

Rimmel – Matte Face Powder – Translucent

Now this one, I have hit pan, so will have to replace this soon-ish… As it is a staple, it will have to be done. The pricing isnt too bad when it is regular price, I am yet to see it on sale here though to compare. This retails for AUD$12.95 and CAN$9.99 + 5% tax.

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder -  Australia

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder – Australia

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder -  Canada

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder – Canada

Essie Nail Polish

I love me some Essie Nail polish, the colours are just fabulous…. however….. Even regular price, we are still paying more. These retail for AUD$16.95 and CAN$11.99

Essie - Australia

Essie – Australia

Essie - Canada

Essie – Canada

Maybelline Color Tattoo Creme Eyeshadows

And then there was this one. My friend loves these, she had sworn by these, they are a staple in her collection. These retail for AUD$11.95 and CAN$10.49 + 5% tax. Finally one that was closer in pricing! We have a winner!!!!

Maybelline Color Tattoo - Australia

Maybelline Color Tattoo – Australia

Maybelline Color Tattoo - Canada

Maybelline Color Tattoo – Canada

I know that I wont be able to order everything I want to order overseas all the time.  I do however think it is really unfair to the consumers her to have to pay anywhere from 50-75% more for simple pleasures. “We earn more here, therefore things cost more”, “its the shipping costs”, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. I think paying the exchange rate and a couple extra dollars more for shipping is acceptable. Anything above that – is balls. Just balls.

Deez xx

About Deez

After spending the better part of the last decade living in London and Calgary, I have now moved home to Sydney Australia! The land of beautiful beaches, weather and yes, as people like to point out - the deadliest animals in the world... we all have our quirks! Join me as I share my no frills stories about anything and everything!
This entry was posted in Just Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.