Catastrophe averted!

Not a review, more a quick story for you!

Why does it always happen that when you are running late, your makeup goes haywire? This happened to me a couple of weeks ago. I was running late, so I did my normal morning routine at super speed, using my favourite L’Oreal Lumi foundation, only to run into the bathroom and WHOLLY HECK WTF! I had turned into an oompa loompa! My face was bright orange – I had the really sexy chin and jaw line too that we all know and love! I had to wash my face and start again.

ecard

Hightailing it back into my room, I used only the bare minimum. Tinted moisturizer (Laura Mercier) and my new Inglot mattefying face powder, then the rest of my face – ie, shadow mascara and lipgloss. Turned out ok. What the heck was with my foundation?

Getting to work, I emailed my friend who sent me through an article of all the things that could have gone wrong with my foundation, oxidising, reaction to my skin – all kinds of things! I thought I would try the simplest option – think back to what I did that morning. Moisturizer, primer…..PRIMER! I had not used primer. So I tried again – BINGO! Perfect match to my face, no orange in sight!

Here I was thinking I was going to have to throw out ALL my foundations – drugstore through to high-end – the very thought of it made me shudder! I even moved my whole makeup collection to a cooler spot in my room just in case the heat caused some issues! Thankfully, before I did something that drastic (like get rid of it all), I worked out the issue – surely I am not the only one this has happened to – or am I?

Lesson of the day – Primer – it’s important.

Deez xx

About Deez

After spending the better part of the last decade living in London and Calgary, I have now moved home to Sydney Australia! The land of beautiful beaches, weather and yes, as people like to point out - the deadliest animals in the world... we all have our quirks! Join me as I share my no frills stories about anything and everything!
This entry was posted in Just Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.