Lancome Juicy Shaker’s- Review

“Shake It, Twist It, Love It! Colors that turn you on!

Juicy Shaker’s bi-phase technology delivers the first pigmented lip oil with 2 distinct phases. The first phase is a transparent oil phase for a comfortable non-sticky shine. The second is the pigment phase for a shot of color. Shake Juicy Shaker like a cocktail shaker to mix the pigments and oil. The cushion applicator enhances application by delivering the perfect ‘shot’ of addictive non-sticky shine and a sheer tint of color to your lips that is simply irresistible.”

I was asked by my friend Cindy, from,  Younique by Cindy to review the Lancome Juicy Shaker gloss I had bought a little while ago.

IMG_5032

Lancome Juicy Shaker – Piece of Cake

First off, the packaging itself is just adorable, a mini shaker that actually does make you feel like doing the little martini jig while shaking it up before applying (or is that just me?) Once the colour is mixed, the actual applicator itself is this great little dome that I think applies the gloss perfectly. The sales girl told me the little trick to getting fuller colour coverage was to hold the shaker upside down at first to let the pigment fall before shaking it so you get more pigment on the adorably cute applicator. It does help to make the colour apply more evenly. My first application was a tad patchy!

I wore it solidly for a week and I really liked it! It did take some getting used to – the oily texture is quite different for someone who has used glosses all her life – though the selling point for me was that as it’s an oil there is no tacky feeling! I know I am not alone here, but I did find I stopped wearing a lot of glosses because I have long hair which tends to get stuck in the gloss when it’s windy.. it’s never pleasant having to pull your hair out of your mouth then find it’s covered in gloss. The whole process just becomes a hot mess and more hassle than the gloss is generally worth! However, I didn’t have this issue at all with the oil based gloss! That in itself is a winner in my book!

The pigment in the shaker did stain my lips once the oil wore off and while the oil was sitting on my lips they felt quite hydrated, soft and lovely. As I bought a Piece of Cake, it has a lovely subtle vanilla-ish scent to it which is nice! Some of the other scents are more fruity (as per their names). I did notice after letting the gloss sit stationary for a few days though, mixing it up again took some time and there was a slight black tinge to the colour. Once mixed though it disappeared. Has anyone else had that or was that just me? It didn’t affect the gloss or application, so might just have been some separation issues….

As I always like to know what I am putting on my skin, I checked out the Lancome website to find out what was in the oils in the product. So we have Peach kernel oil; a well-known emollient softens lips while Sweet Almond oil conditions and Cranberry oil provides rich anti-oxidant properties. Muscat Rose oil is rich in essential fatty acids and helps to soothe lips. And there you have it!

With 12 different shades to choose from, there is definitely a shade for everyone. I personally will be going back to get a couple more – once I can decide which shades I want! As I am obsessed with anything mango, the Mangoes go Wild is a no brainer, it’s that last one I just can’t decide……

Where I got it – David Jones, Sydney

What it cost me – AUD $34

Stars – 4/5

About Deez

After spending the better part of the last decade living in London and Calgary, I have now moved home to Sydney Australia! The land of beautiful beaches, weather and yes, as people like to point out - the deadliest animals in the world... we all have our quirks! Join me as I share my no frills stories about anything and everything!
This entry was posted in Favourites - Lips, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.